

Dr. Vikass Monebhurrun

CentraleSupelec, France Chair IEEE Antennas & Propagation Standards Committee



Dr. Vikass Monebhurrun (SM'07) received the PhD degree in electronics in 1994 and the Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches (HDR) in physics in 2010 from Université Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) and Université Paris-Sud (Paris XI), respectively. He was engaged in research on electromagnetic non-destructive testing for nuclear power and aeronautical applications until 1998, following which he joined the Department of Electromagnetics at Supélec (CentraleSupélec since 2015). His research interests encompass time domain numerical modeling as well as radio frequency measurements. He actively participated in French National Research Programs on electromagnetic dosimetry since 1998, namely COMOBIO (1999-2002 on 2G systems), ADONIS (2003-2005 on 3G systems) and MULTIPASS (2007-2010 on 4G systems). His research contributed to international standardization committees of CENELEC, IEC, and IEEE.

He is author and co-author of more than 100 peer-reviewed international conference and journal papers. He also holds three international patents on antennas for mobile communications. He is an active contributor to international standardization committees of IEC 62209, IEC 62232, IEC/IEEE 62704 and IEEE1528. He is currently a member of the European COST Action BM 1309.

Dr. Monebhurrun serves as member of the Editorial Board of the IEEE COMPUMAG and IEEE CEFC conferences, and IEEE Transactions on Magnetics special issues since 1998. He is the founder of the IEEE Radio and Antenna Days of the Indian Ocean (RADIO) international conference and he served as General Chair for all six editions since 2012. In 2013, he initiated the Radio Society (Mauritius) for which he serves as President. He is currently the Chair of the international committees of IEC/IEEE 62704-3 and IEEE Antennas and Propagation Standards. He serves as Associate-Editor for the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Transactions and Magazine, and Editor of the IoP Conference Series: Materials Science and Engineering. He was the recipient of the Union Radio-Scientifique Internationale (URSI) Young Scientist Award in 1996. Two of his PhD students received Best Student Paper Awards at the BioEM 2014 international conference. Following the publication of the dual/logo IEC/IEEE 62704-3 international standard on computational dosimetry in 2017, he was awarded the IEEE Standards Association International Working Group Chair Award. He was recipient of the IEC 1906 Award in 2018.